Black Science

Black Science CD Cover


The musicians included in this session are Five Elements members Steve Coleman (alto saxophone), James Weidman (piano/keyboards), David Gilmore (guitar), Reggie Washington (electric bass), and Marvin “Smitty” Smith (drums and percussion). Special guests for this project are Cassandra Wilson (vocals), Najma Akhtar (vocals), Dave Mills (voice) and Dave Holland (bass). Joe Marciano (recording and mix engineer). Recorded December 1990 in Brooklyn NY.

Track List

  1. Song Title length
  2. The X-Format (Standard Deviation) 06:44
  3. Twister 07:48
  4. Turbulence 06:22
  5. Beyond All We Know 04:10
  6. A Vial Of Calm 07:06
  7. Black Phonemics 04:01
  8. Ghost Town 06:56
  9. Magneto 02:52
  10. Cross-Fade 03:07
  11. Black Phonemics (Reprise) 01:52


Music available on the download page.